France for visitors

France > Dordogne > Dordogne

Map of Dordogne

Cabara : Click to enlarge picture
© Jean Saint-Martin
To the French, the Dordogne is a river. To the British, it is a much looser term, covering a vast area roughly equivalent to what the French call Périgord. This starts south of Limoges and includes the Vézère and Dordogne valleys. The Dordogne is also a département, with fixed boundaries that pay no heed to either definition. The central part of the département, around Périgueux and the River Isle, is known as Périgord Blanc, after the light, white colour of its rock outcrops; the southeastern half around Sarlat as Périgord Noir, said to be darker in aspect than the Blanc because of the preponderance of oak woods. To confuse matters further, the tourist authorities have added another two colours to the Périgord patchwork: Périgord Vert, the far north of the département, so called because of the green of its woods and pastureland; and Périgord Pourpre in the southwest, purple because it includes the wine-growing area around Bergerac. The Dordogne is also known for its bastides – fortified towns – built during the turbulent medieval period when there was almost constant conflict between the French and English.

Pages in section ‘Dordogne’: Perigord Pourpre, Perigord Noir, Perigord Vert & Blanc, Bastide country, St-Jean-de-Cole, Thiviers.

Sponsored links: - DHTML Menu By Milonic JavaScript

  © Rough Guides 2008  About this website